Natura 2000

Preserving the biological diversity of Europe is of particular concern to the European Union. To conserve natural habitats and the animals and plants that live there, a network of ecologically valuable reserves have been created within the EU member states under the “Natura 2000” banner. The “Rhine bend in Orsoy in the Lower Rhine bird sanctuary” forms part of this network and thus part of Europe’s natural heritage.

 

Two European laws, the Habitats Directive and Birds Directive, provide the legal basis for conservation at a European level. In Germany, the federal states are responsible for implementing these directives and for maintaining and managing Natura 2000 areas. In turn, they assign some of their responsibilities to the administrative districts. In North Rhine Westphalia, at least 500 Special Areas of Conservation are included in the Natura 2000 network, making up 5.4% of the state’s land area.

 

With 27 areas totalling 11,900 hectares (11.4% of the district’s land area), the Wesel district has a clear responsibility.

 

The Biologische Station im Kreis Wesel has assumed this responsibility and has applied for subsidies from the European LIFE conservation fund for this purpose.

 

What is LIFE?

LIFE is the European Union’s financial instrument supporting environmental and conservation projects. It is one of the most important tools for promoting environmental policy within Europe. The letters stand for the French term ‘L’Instrument Financier pour l’Environnement’, or in English, ‘the financing instrument for the environment’.

 

The LIFE-Nature strand supports nature conservation work that aims to maintain or restore natural habitats and populations of endangered wild plants and animals.

 

Within the EU, it is typical for LIFE subsidies to be paid out in specific phases. The most recent phase ran from 2007-2013 and was named LIFE+, having been preceded by LIFE I to III.

 

“Rhine bend in Orsoy in the Lower Rhine bird sanctuary” is one of 18 LIFE projects running in North Rhine Westphalia as of the start of 2014 and is 50% financed by the LIFE+ programme.

Natura 2000

Die biologische Vielfalt Europas zu erhalten, ist ein besonderes Anliegen der Europäischen Union. Um die natürlichen Lebensräume und die dort wild lebenden Tiere und Pflanzen zu schützen, wurde innerhalb der EU-Mitgliedsstaaten ein Netzwerk der ökologisch wertvollsten Schutzgebiete geschaffen, das die Bezeichnung „Natura 2000“ trägt. Das Projektgebiet „Orsoyer Rheinbogen im Vogelschutzgebiet Unterer Niederrhein“ ist ein Teil dieses Netzwerkes und damit ein Teil des europäischen Naturerbes.

 

Zwei europäische Gesetze, die FFH-Richtlinie und die Vogelschutzrichtlinie, bilden die rechtliche Grundlage für den Schutz der Natur auf europäischer Ebene. Für die Umsetzung dieser Richtlinien sowie für den Erhalt und das Management der Natura 2000-Gebiete sind in Deutschland die Bundesländer verantwortlich. Diese wiederum haben einen Teil der Verantwortung an die Kreise übertragen. In NRW gehören gut 500 FFH-Gebiete mit einem Anteil von 5,4% der Landesfläche zum Netzwerk der Natura 2000 Gebiete.

 

Der Kreis Wesel hat mit 27 Gebieten auf einer Fläche von 11.900 ha (11,4 % der Kreisfläche) eine herausragende Verantwortung.

 

Die Biologische Station im Kreis Wesel stellt sich dieser Verantwortung und hat hierfür Fördermittel aus dem europäischen Naturschutzfond Life eingeworben.

 

 

Was ist Life?

LIFE ist das Förderprogramm der Europäischen Union zur finanziellen Unterstützung von Umwelt und Naturschutzvorhaben. Es ist eines der wichtigsten Instrumente zur Förderung der europäischen Umweltpolitik. Die Buchstaben stehen für den französischen Begriff L’Instrument Financier pour l’Environnement, was soviel heißt wie “Das Finanzierungsinstrument für die Umwelt”.

 

In der Säule „Life Natur“ werden Naturschutzvorhaben gefördert, die der Erhaltung bzw. Wiederherstellung natürlicher Lebensräume und der Populationen gefährdeter wildlebender Pflanzen und Tiere dienen.

 

EU-typisch werden die Life-Fördergelder über bestimmte Förderperioden gezahlt. Die aktuelle Förderperiode gilt von 2007 – 2013 und heißt Life+, ihr sind die Förderperioden Life I bis III vorangegangen.

 

„Orsoyer Rheinbogen im Vogelschutzgebiet Unterer Niederrhein“ ist eines von zur Zeit (Anfang 2014) 18 Life-Projekten in NRW und wird zu 50% aus dem Life+-Programm finanziert.