History

The foothills on the Rhine bend in Orsoy offer a vital habitat for numerous rare and protected animal and plant species and is therefore part of a national and international conservation area. However, despite its designation as a conservation area, a Special Area of Conservation, part of the Lower Rhine bird sanctuary and the Lower Rhine Ramsar site, living conditions for many of the species living here have deteriorated over the past three decades. As a result, their numbers are continually declining and many of them are on the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species.

 

Package of measures for the Lower Rhine bird sanctuary

In 2009, the state of North Rhine Westphalia resolved to set out and implement a package of measures for the bird sanctuary in order to counteract this alarming development.

 

This package of measures has been in place since February 2011, and includes factors influencing the threat to particular species and proposals for counteracting these threats. Measures expected to be successful require meticulous planning based on reliable local studies. Implementation of these measures must be supported by experts and evaluated and, if necessary, adapted at a later date. A significant amount of work and funding is required. The EU’s LIFE Programme is designed to manage these nature and environmental conservation efforts in Europe’s most valuable conservation areas.

 

Project objectives

The Biologische Station im Kreis Wesel is seeking to address these issues for the Rhine bend at Orsoy as a part of the bird sanctuary, and so our efforts are classified as a LIFE+ project. The primary objective is to improve the conservation status of species and habitats with European significance, or to put it another way, to preserve the area for future generations as part of Europe’s natural heritage.

 

With the Rhine bend at Orsoy specifically in mind, this means:

 

Improving the quality of the habitat for target species including the black-tailed godwit, redshank, Northern lapwing and Natterjack toad, and improving the lowland hay meadows habitat type as defined by the Habitats Directive from their current poor state of preservation to a more favourable conservation status secured for the future. Last but not least, people using the area should be made aware that they are part of their environment and play a vital role in protecting these unique and valuable habitats.

Die Vorgeschichte

Das Rheinvorland im Orsoyer Rheinbogen bietet unentbehrlichen Lebensraum für zahlreiche seltene und geschützte Tier- und Pflanzenarten und ist deshalb Teil nationaler und internationaler Schutzgebietskulissen. Doch trotz der Ausweisung als Naturschutzgebiet, FFH-Gebiet, als Teil des Vogelschutzgebietes „Unterer Niederrhein“ und des RAMSAR-Gebietes „Unterer Niederrhein“ haben sich die Lebensbedingungen für viele der hier lebenden Arten in den letzten drei Jahrzehnten verschlechtert. Als Folge gingen ihre Bestände immer weiter zurück und viele von ihnen sind heute auf der Roten Liste der gefährdeten Arten zu finden.

 

Das Maßnahmenkonzept Vogelschutzgebiet Unterer Niederrhein

Um dieser Besorgnis erregenden Entwicklung entgegen zu steuern, hat sich das Land Nordrhein-Westfalen 2009 verpflichtet, ein Maßnahmenkonzept (MAKO) für das Vogelschutzgebiet aufzustellen und umzusetzen.

 

Dieses MAKO liegt seit Februar 2011 vor. Darin sind Faktoren, die die Gefährdung der Arten beeinflussen sowie Maßnahmenvorschläge, um diesen gegenzusteuern, im einzelnen aufgeführt. Doch Maßnahmen, die Erfolg haben sollen, bedürfen einer sorgfältigen Planung auf der Grundlage von fundierten, ortsbezogenen Untersuchungen. Ihre Umsetzung muss fachlich begleitet und später evaluiert und ggf. angepasst werden. Eine Menge Arbeit und auch finanzielle Mittel werden erforderlich. Um solche Umwelt- und Naturschutzaufgaben in den wertvollsten europäischen Schutzgebieten stemmen zu können, gibt es das Life-Programm der EU.

 

 

Das Ziel des Projekts

Die Biologische Station im Kreis Wesel möchte diese Aufgaben für den Orsoyer Rheinbogen als Teil des Vogelschutzgebietes in Angriff nehmen – und so wurde unser Vorhaben ein Life+ Projekt. Übergeordnetes Ziel ist es, den Erhaltungszustand von Arten und Lebensräumen europäischer Bedeutung zu verbessern – oder anders ausgedrückt: diese als Teil des europäischen Naturerbes für nachfolgende Generationen zu erhalten.

 

Zugeschnitten auf den Orsoyer Rheinbogen heißt das konkret:

 

Die Lebensraumqualität für die Zielarten, darunter Uferschnepfe, Rotschenkel, Kiebitz und Kreuzkröte, soll verbessert werden. Den Beständen des FFH-Lebensraumtyps „Flachland-Mähwiesen“, die zum Teil in einem schlechten Erhaltungszustand sind, soll zu einer besseren, auch in Zukunft gesicherten Qualität verholfen werden. Nicht zuletzt sollen die Menschen, die das Gebiet nutzen, dafür sensibilisiert werden, dass sie Teil ihrer Umwelt sind und einen maßgeblichen Einfluss auf den Erhalt ihrer einmaligen, wertvollen Lebensräume ausüben.